Halcyon Evergreen: An Introduction

img_3344

Well hi there, and welcome to Halcyon Evergreen.

I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to feature some incredible artists on this blog, but I’ve never really introduced myself. I’m going to start posting weekly so I figured I may as well let you know who I am!

My name is Hannah. I’m both @halcyonevergreen and @hannahlincolnx (my photography account) on Instagram.

I’m a watercolor artist, writer, photographer, student, daughter, human.

My love for art actually began with a love for words. I’ve been a writer for as long as I can remember. I used to write stories as a child, and I can remember even then the satisfaction I got from putting a pen to paper. Because of course back then all of my books were handwritten! 🙂 I used to illustrate them myself, so I suppose that’s where my love for art really began.

I currently have a few completed novels out there on the internet for free reading, but unfortunately I’m still writing under a pseudonym and I won’t be making that name public yet. But my novella has just hit 25k reads which is just crazy! I never expected anyone to enjoy them as much as they have. I’ll be publishing those under my own name sometime in the next year.

You probably know Halcyon Evergreen from Instagram. That’s where I post most of my paintings and new things that I’ve made available on my Etsy shop (which you should totally check out :))

I’m currently earning my degree in graphic design. I think the next 36 months are going to be quite an adventure! I’m attending Full Sail University online, and I’ll be posting about my experience with the school and degree program as I start to get into the swing of things.

So, Halcyon Evergreen.

This project has both inspired and frustrated me. Ironically, I think the name fits: to me, it stands for blissful perseverance. And we will persevere, won’t we?

The name covers every form of my art, from my paintings, to my books, and all the way to my music, which I hope to start sharing with you very soon.

Someone who inspires me very much once told me something that has stuck with me, and it’s this, in a very short version of her beautiful words: “Being you is really the only option you ever had.”

I am learning this more and more every day.

There is a beautiful community of artists, writers, creators, makers, humans out there, and the support they show each other is amazing. I’m not going to pretend that there aren’t issues (copyright infringement being one of them). Of course there are. But at the core of things, it’s a fantastic community and it’s a pleasure to be part of it.

Thanks for reading! I’ll be posting 1-2 times a week now, so stay tuned if you’re interested 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

