Artist Feature: Katelyn Morse


Tell us a little about yourself!

Hi! I’m Katelyn, from the oceanic east coast of Canada. I’m a full time artist who is obsessed with my cat and frolicking around greenhouses.

In your opinion, what defines an “artist”?

Anyone who produces something creative in which they have poured in passion, joy and imagination.

What inspires your work?

Nature! Mountains, foliage, peonies, the moon, crystals, forests, etc. There is so much beauty to be enjoyed and inspired by and it’s all been freely given to us. What a wondrous thing!

Do you have a certain process when creating?

I’m quite spontaneous. I try to calm myself down first and make sure I have lots of time so I don’t feel rushed. I have tea or coffee and sometimes play some music. I give myself a good dose of inspiration first and then I dive in!

What are three things that you value the most in your work?

Wonder – I like for people to appreciate the natural beauty around them when they look at my work. I hope it sparks a sense of wonder.

Peace – I aim for each piece I paint to have a sense of peace, a calm, or a soothing vibe to it. Nature is the best medicine, some say!

Organic – I love that all of my work is based on subjects found on our earth. We have been given SO much to appreciate and enjoy here and I hope more will realize that and go out and explore more!

Do you have a formal background in art or are you self-taught?

I am self taught! It’s always been a hobby of mine.

What advice would you give an aspiring artist?

I never thought I could be an artist. I thought it was kind of impossible, but it’s not! Keep producing work. Be as kind as you can be. Do not give up, persevere. Do your research. Research social media marketing. It’s not that scary, Instagram is fun! Get to know other creatives, so you can bounce ideas and ask questions to each other! The merriweather council on Facebook is a great group for that! Love what you do and don’t be discouraged. Good things take time. Be open minded and be kind to yourself. Enjoy every moment!

birchbliss.etsy.com

instagram.com/katejerryy

 

Leave a Reply

